Asrai Devin- the Maven of Mischief

Putting the fun back in dysfunctional.

Canning vs Caning and it’s need to said

Okay, at least once a day someone finds my blog searching “canning in 50 Shades of Grey”. And every time I snort a little drink onto my keyboard.

I only blogged about 50 Shades twice and I haven’t even read the book.

But this needs to be said.

Canning is the process by which you preserve food in jars by boiling the fuck out of them and they the metal lids are vacuumed sealed to the jar. This did not occur at anytime during 50 Shades of Grey. I don’t think Ana and Christian are into food preserves.

Caning which is the act of beating someone with a stick or  cane, usually doing during a S&M scene. I imagine it hurts like hell, but as my husband is not into dealing out pain to me, I don’t know how much it actually hurts.

If you read 50 Shades and have to my website to learn this tidbit of information, can you answer me  a question? Has E.L James misspelled caning in her book?

Enhanced by Zemanta
19 responses to “Canning vs Caning and it’s need to said

  1. Lynn Kelley June 26, 2012 at 7:49 pm

    Hilarious post, Asrai! I haven’t read the book so I don’t know if she misspelled the word or if the Google searchers are misspelling it!

  2. Tameri Etherton June 27, 2012 at 9:03 am

    She spells it right, people are just silly. Hey baby, come can me with those tomatoes! Yeah, that’s not so sexy. Then again, I don’t think caning is sexy either. Ouch!

    • asraidevin June 27, 2012 at 10:26 am

      Thank you Tammi. I don’t know if that makes it better or worse. Pain can be sexy. I prefer my pain to come in a nice deep massage from hubby.

  3. Yodelahewho August 5, 2012 at 3:15 pm

    Caning is not spelt wrong in the book. Just read wrong

  4. teresa August 16, 2012 at 2:48 am

    No she has not mispelled it. She spells it Caning.

  5. Melanie September 18, 2012 at 10:03 pm

    No he hasn’t spelt it wrong lol

  6. Junnie September 20, 2012 at 1:00 am

    thank you for the clarification, i was wondering what the heck the author was talking about. =3 I get the feeling she didn’t do her homework before writting the books =P

  7. Alexa September 23, 2012 at 8:41 pm

    Sooner or later you will read the book, is ficking awesome.

    • asraidevin September 24, 2012 at 9:18 am

      I have read them. While the story might have been enjoyable, the main characters annoyed me. Ana acts more like a twelve year old and Christian is a poor dom.

  8. Pingback: Updated books page, retailer delays and lice … oh my « Asrai Devin- the Maven of Mischief

  9. marie October 10, 2012 at 2:08 pm

    Its not mispelled in the book. However i never knew what it meant. So glad someone did :p

  10. elisha January 31, 2013 at 6:32 pm

    Actually caning is spelled correctly in the book lol.

Tell everyone why you are awesome too!

