Asrai Devin- the Maven of Mischief

Putting the fun back in dysfunctional.

Conversations with the Muse

So we (the muses and I) came up with this wonderful idea. This wonderful world where people with kind of ESP started a war to take over the world, or the government (it’s not really Earth based) at least. But they lost, at great cost to everyone else. The government is now focused on controlling them and everyone else in the world is kind of left to their own devices.

I have no idea how to write an adventure type novel. I write romance, my brain is stuck there. The Plot Bunnies (muses) complain they can’t see the conflict or the character arc, or anything, because I am so focused on the romance.

I am stuck with this wonderful idea and no place to go with it.  I have this one and another mystery in my idea bank. Stories I’d love to write but have no idea how to plot.

What I need to do is read a few non-romance, action, adventures, fantasy type books. Not only read them, but study them. I’d prefer the books have romances in them, since romance will always be a subplot for me. I can’t not have a romance. So I’m soliciting suggestions. What adventure books have you enjoyed? Preferably a stand alone or not more than a trilogy. I don’t want to read a ten-book series. I loved Louise Bujod’s “Sharing Knife” series, but I didn’t get what she wrote about half the time.

For now, somehow this new book plotted itself, and I’m a pantser, so I have no idea what is going on. I’m blaming Holly Lisle. I full expect at least the last third to change as I go along, already the Plot Bunnies are pushing new ideas toward me “how about we do this?” yes yes, we’ll work it all in my dears.

My lovely beautiful editor, who didn’t tell me my story sucks, is/are, there are two I think, working on my second to last hockey novel. I think, could be the last. If it goes well, I may may may revise the other three with a professional edit. We’ll see. We shall see indeed.

I’m feeling very lovey and at peace with the world. I’m going to go enjoy that feeling. Have a great weekend. See tomorrow with the fun, and Saturday with my link mash up. I got lazy last week. I tweet new links all afternoon, you can follow me on twitter http://www.twitter.com/asrai

Enhanced by Zemanta
12 responses to “Conversations with the Muse

  1. ahamin May 31, 2012 at 2:44 pm

    First of all, I like your idea… it has the POTENTIAL… obviously you have to read, watch, and believe it or not, play (as in video games) an adventure and action stories. I recommend the hunger games trilogy, it has romance a sub-genre too. A good trilogy I like is the Jake West junior series (Seven ancient wonders, Six sacred stones, and the five greatest warriors) by Matthew Reilly… its about a group of small nation going against the big ones to obtain an artifact ant to try to save our planet… that must help with your idea.
    Best of luck with your ideas… it is amazing that you are trying to write in another genre… and don’t worry… including romance in all of the genre is always a good thing :)

    • asraidevin May 31, 2012 at 11:11 pm

      I have not read the Hunger Games. I’ll add your suggestions to my TBR. :)

      I have been playing Dragon Age and Mass Effect (DA has been an inspiration). I think I need to map out the plots of the games.

      thank you thank you.

  2. Karen June 2, 2012 at 6:13 pm

    Hi, Asrai!
    Almost anything by Mercedes Lackey will tick all your check-boxes, I think ~
    fantasy, adventure, non-earth civilizations, at least one side of romance, and a healthy and loving Life-Lesson, ta-boot (never called the ‘moral of the story’, but still there). Several of her series’ are longer than you asked for, but they will stand alone, too.

    Hope you’re having a great weekend!

  3. Karen June 4, 2012 at 11:33 pm

    “…have no idea how to write an adventure type novel. I write romance, my brain is stuck there.”

    ~ Here’s a book that might help with that^^^… “Worlds of Wonder ~ How to Write Science Fiction & Fantasy” by David Gerrold, 2001, ISBN 0-7394-1802-5.
    It’s a delight to read, even for a non-aspiring-author (now that I dug it out of the stacks, I’m gonna hafta re-read it myself just for the juicy-but-practical ‘how to write’ parts!) He’s written over 40 books (as of the dustcover copy, so 2001), and studied his own and others’ writing processes, so it really feels like he know where-of-he-speaks.

  4. andrewmocete June 5, 2012 at 8:58 pm

    Lee Child writes excellent adventure/thrillers. He writes about the same character, but the stories are all standalones. One Shot or Bad Luck and Trouble are favorites of mine.

    The Talisman by Stephen King and Peter Straub was AWESOME.

    Michael Crichton is another good one. Timeline or Jurassic Park.

Tell everyone why you are awesome too!

