What do you mean Niche Down?

I want to know everything

I want to be everywhere

I want to fuck everyone in the world

I want to do something that matters

— I Do Not Want This written by Trent Reznor, Nine Inch Nails

I read a lot of different things about writing, and about business. I fancy myself an entrepeneur without a business. Yet. Writing is writing, I need to write fiction, but I need something more.

I love Danielle LaPorte, who led me to Marie Forleo. Who I am cursing.

If you go to Ms. Forleo’s website she has a free sign up for the “rich, happy and hot business school”. And I am a sucker for these things. My in box is quite over run with free newsletters that seem interesting. Anyway, I am watching her free video the 6 pillars of business. Which i only got half through.

And I’m pissed. Because the advice for business (and/or bloggers) is to NICHE DOWN. Niche, niche, niche, until you find your thing that are super excited about that you can sell.

I hate this advice. It makes me want to pout and kick things. I don’t want to stick to one thing.

Marie (see me and my good friend, Marie, who I know so well because I’ve been following her blog for a week now) says if you niche down first and get successful there, you can branch out later. You can listen to her say it in a video about “Should one combine passions or choose one?

alright, I can buy that. Barbara Sher says similar things. You can choose one passion for your money making, but still work on other passions on the weekends, or even less frequently.

I’ve exhausted myself on this little bit of soul searching. I don’t know where I’m going to go yet.  This is an ongoing struggle for me, as I try to find my place. This morning had me writing really artsy things in my head, a bit like Paulo Coehlo. Reading his work makes me feel pretentious, that’s how my artsy writing makes me feel. I love how it feels, but at the same time I feel like I’m posing. But I’m going to write it and post it. These things will probably venture into Mature territory. Much of my thinking time is “how can I add smut into the mix?”

What do you think of the advice to “niche down”? Does niche have a role in fiction writer’s blogs? Do you niche? Should I forget about the entire niche plan and just run wild?

Enhanced by Zemanta
4 thoughts on “What do you mean Niche Down?

  1. my sister is a virtual business manager, specializing in authors…she says I’m making that very mistake. My blog is not doing enough to support my fiction writing. Worse, in her mind, the two are in conflict. she thinks I should choose but I don’t want to. I love both fiction an d non-fiction. I don’t want to choose. so I’m not. I’ll let you know how it turns out. LOL

  2. Pingback: I can do it all « Asrai Devin- the Maven of Mischief

Tell everyone why you are awesome too!

