Asrai Devin- the Maven of Mischief

Putting the fun back in dysfunctional.

Money, money, money

If you’ve ever seen Gail Vaz-Oxlade’s show, “Til Debt do Us Part” you’ll hear the opening soundtrack. If you haven’t, try to find it.

I’m reading Moolala by Bruce Sellery, which I thought was going to be your usual how-to for money. Spend less, make more, save, save, save. It has the tag line “why smart people do dumb things with their money (and what you can do about it)”.

English: Canadian Tire Money which can be used...

Image via Wikipedia

It’s not about spending less, making more or saving. Well it is about all those things too. Just on a deeper level. You could call it psychological or spiritual, whatever you want to name it.

We all have ideas about what money is for, what it does for us. Most of our ideas come from our childhood experiences.

For me, money was a point of contention. My dad made good money, but he spent it on things my mom didn’t agree with, and she always felt we didn’t have enough. (which may have stemmed from her childhood experience of growing up the seventh of 10 children on a farm). I guess I grew up with the idea that I needed to save, I needed to stash money away for LATER. My money context is money is for later. I’m good at putting things off, buying things. Like when we were given a large gift of money, my husband bought a television (we didn’t need) and I was to buy a video camera. We picked one out and it was out of stock, and we’ve never gone back to get it. My husband says that’s happening soon.

So then, in this book, which I’ve only gotten a chapter into, it asks you to rewrite the context of money, because guess what? you get to tell your money what you want it to do. Money doesn’t control us, we control it. Or at least we should, because money isn’t sentient, yet.

I’m trying to figure out what I want my money to do after the whole survival thing is over. So I”m trying it out.

Money is for freedom. Freedom to do what I want, freedom to create and enjoy life.

Money is for security. I need a certain amount of money stashed away for security. This isn’t bad, it is what I need.

Money is abundant. Part of my money is for the future, is a scarcity mentality. I’m going to add this one as a reminder on my debit card, so I’m not worried about spending. There is more and more and more. And I can have all I want.

What is your purpose for money?

Enhanced by Zemanta
9 responses to “Money, money, money

  1. Tameri Etherton March 26, 2012 at 4:18 pm

    Oh, yikes. Money. I was raised with an attitude of fear towards money and so I never learned to respect it or value it. It was used as a weapon against us when we were growing up and so I had a terrible relationship with money until my 30s when my husband taught me to understand and respect money. I went through an awful period where I wanted things I couldn’t afford because I didn’t want to look poor (that was a huge thing with my mom). One day I realized I didn’t have to compete with the other mommies and have the ‘best’ purse or the ‘coolest’ car. I could have what fit me and made me happy. If it wasn’t Prada, so what? I’m much happier now than I’ve ever been. Still, that book sounds curious.

  2. Debra Eve (@DebraEve) March 27, 2012 at 1:20 am

    I, too, was raised with the “never enough” syndrome. My mother put an insidious twist on it — she never bothered to tell me if there was enough or not, only if I was good enough to warrant it. It colored my relationship with money until a few years ago. Sounds like an insightful read I should pick up, Asrai!

  3. Jennette Marie Powell March 27, 2012 at 10:38 am

    I guess I have been fortunate in that I was raised with one parent who tended to hoard money, but not to extreme; while the other spent, but not what we didn’t have. What’s funny is they have now reversed roles, but do the same thing! I’ve always seen money as something I need to manage, but I’m not afraid to spend it if I have it. My husband hoards money, but will spend from time to time if he really wants something – and has the money already. Your approach of freedom/security sounds like a smart one – good luck and have fun with it!

  4. Marcy Kennedy March 29, 2012 at 10:31 am

    This really hits home for me. We always had enough growing up, but I also always knew it was because my parents practically killed themselves working. So when my husband receives a gift of money, he immediately knows how he wants to spend it and he does. When I receive a gift of money, my tendency is to squirrel it away. I also have no problem spending money on other people, but really struggle to spend on myself.

  5. Pingback: Tag, I’m It – Lucky 7 Meme « Shannyn Schroeder's Blog

Tell everyone why you are awesome too!

