Asrai Devin- the Maven of Mischief

Putting the fun back in dysfunctional.

#Row80 checkin

I have missed the last two to four checkins because  i’ve been WRITING. I am in love with my characters, the plot, everything. i am especially loving just writing. If I get stuck, i just ask “How could I make this situation worse?” and keep going. i’m getting at least a thousand words per day in the hour or so between the kids bedtime and mine. So I’m pretty excited.

My goals were to edit my hockey novels. i had beta readers read them with some mixed comments and then I wasn’t sure if I should scrap the story or what. I decided I like the story as is. A few minor changes, a read aloud through and then edit for typos as best i can and a cover. It shall be released mid-March as planned.

Blog goals. I’ve floundered this week. Pinterest has me so excited to do house projects during the day and then i’m trying to sty on my routines so daytime i haven’t been blogging much. Then evening rolls around and i want to write, so little blogging. And my stats are reflecting that. I’ve also realized I am not writhing from my heart. I want to do that more, but it is a work in progress. I am working on it.

Personal goals: I stopped working out. It made my son whiny and that was making me grumpy. So I’m changing the 4 day to 3 day a week work outs. my son will suck it up, but i will also keep workouts under 30 minutes.  My body is so stiff and sore today, every joint hurts, which I thought I’d gotten past (for about 4 years from 16-20, my body ached all the time. And then I did some inner healing and it disappeared).

I updated my 50/50 list. Its difficult for me to do the movies. My husband watches a movie a day, usually the same 6 repeatedly and randomly, but he also watches movies on TV when he’s home and I catch 45 minutes here or there because the children are pulling me or  housework has to get done in another room (we used to have this lovely open kitchen/dining room/living room flow now the living  room is cut-off), so I don’t catch a whole movie very often. i’ll get there, i’m not as behind as I thought. I’ve also been struggling with reading because I have borrowed a few books I had no interest in finishing Age of Miracles by Marianne Williamson turned out to be for women in midlife, Defy Gravity by Caroline Myss turned out to be about healing experiences and a bit dry.

Can i count fan fiction in my book if it’s book length? I can’t help myself when it comes Alternate Universe Dragon Age where The female Warden romances Bann Teagen. That is so not the best picture of him, but it’s the best I could find.


Enhanced by Zemanta
One response to “#Row80 checkin

  1. Jennette Marie Powell March 1, 2012 at 11:42 am

    It’s so awesome when the writing goes so wonderfully! I haven’t written new material in so long, I’ve practically forgotten what that’s like. But I did get some fantastic feedback from my last beta reader last night, and that’s wonderful too! I’m looking at a mid-March release, too. :)

    50/50 sounds like a fun challenge, but I know I can’t fit in a movie every week. I just don’t have time to watch much TV or movies. Somtimes it’s tricky getting a book read in a week too, especially if it’s long and meaty. I think you should be able to count fanfic, if it’s book length.

    Good luck with the edits, and have a great week!

Tell everyone why you are awesome too!

