Asrai Devin- the Maven of Mischief

Putting the fun back in dysfunctional.

Cell Phones, Social Media and Romance by Kristy K James

I love Kristy’s blog. Usually she makes me laugh, but on occasion she will post something that makes me go HMM. You can check out her blog. You can check out her blog at: http://kristykjames.wordpress.com/ now that I’m done singing her praises you can read her actual words:

A relative of mine got married yesterday.  Well technically it was yesterday, but I keep screwy hours and, even if I don’t fall asleep until four in the morning, it won’t be yesterday to me until I wake up again.  Not that it matters for this particular blog, other than the fact that I’m just a hair on the sleep deprived side (what else is new…), with a daughter running a temp of close to 103.  Can we say ‘Not catching up any time in the near future?’

Okay, so why am I writing about a relative’s wedding?  Because there are already reception photos on Facebook.  Posted by her.  Just hours later.  And I just saw that she accepted a friend request a few minutes ago, presumably from her cell phone since there usually aren’t computers at weddings or receptions.  At least none I’ve ever attended.

Do I have a problem with the Facebook updates?  Nope.  There’s not a thing wrong with it. Not at all.  It just struck me how different things are today than they were even ten years ago.

Kristy K. James' cell phone

If my cell phone wouldn’t get so fidgety when it sees my camera, the picture might have come out better…

With cell phones able to access the internet, people can keep everyone up to date on every aspect of their lives now.  Got an emergency, great price on gas, delicious meal at a local restaurant?  With the touch of a few keys on your phone, you can let everyone in your Facebook and Twitter accounts know almost instantly.  Even at your wedding you can keep everyone who wasn’t there in the loop.  I understand one groom even updated his status on both accounts…just before he kissed his bride (which was taking it to extremes in my opinion).  ( the link is:http://www.msnbc.msn.com/id/34381748/ns/technology_and_science-tech_and_gadgets/t/death-weddings-seen-youtube/ )

Experts like to say that we’re losing something with social media.  Namely the skills to function socially, face-to-face.

Except, truth be told, I socialize more since getting on Facebook than I used to do.  Mostly because a lot of my family, and a fair number of friends, are on it, too.  People I’d see once in a blue moon (at the annual reunion, funerals, etc…) I now ‘talk’ to on a pretty much daily basis.

But updating statuses at weddings?

Why not? 

I might not have been there tonight, but I got to see a little of what was going on, which I enjoyed tremendously.    Add YouTube to the mix, and I can see what happened at the weddings of perfect strangers…like my all time favorite:

love this video.  Even though I have to make sure no one is around when I watch it because it brings tears to my eyes and makes it hard to swallow.  I always knew I turned to mush at parades when marching bands and veterans passed by.  Who knew I’d do the same thing over something like this?  A random YouTube video…

Anyone else react that way when you saw this, too?  And what is your opinion about updating statuses at weddings and receptions?  Does it take away from the moment, or is it just another way of allowing others to share in your special day?

Now pardon me because I need to watch the video again.  :)

Enhanced by Zemanta
2 responses to “Cell Phones, Social Media and Romance by Kristy K James

  1. Sheila Seabrook January 12, 2012 at 3:17 pm

    I feel exactly like you do, Kristy. This technology allows peeks at things we wouldn’t normally be able to see due to distance or absence. This Christmas, we set the computer up on the table and Skyped in my youngest sister so she could join in our family celebration. It was better than a phone call because we could SEE her.

    I love technology! :)

  2. Kristy K. James...Living, Loving, Laughing January 12, 2012 at 10:54 pm

    How cool about Christmas and your sister, Sheila! That is definitely one of the advantages of technology! I hope she could see all of you, too. It would have been nice to have that when my dad was still alive and living 800 miles away. Fortunately everyone else is within close driving distance. But if they weren’t, we’d definitely have that kind of set up! :)

    I love technology, too….to a point. And as long as it doesn’t involve texting! :)

Tell everyone why you are awesome too!

