Who are you really?

I love Barbara Sher. When I was 15 or so my mom joined one  those book clubs and since she couldn’t afford all the books on her own I got to get in as well. One of the books I ordered was “I Could Do Anything If I Only Knew What It Was“, which is about doing the things you love and having a fulfilled life. I gave it away on that book drop offsite. Wish I hadn’t

It was my precursor to Dare to Win and the Aladdin Factor by the Chicken Soup for the Soul guys, Jack Canfield and Mark Victor Hansen.

Anyway, I picked up Wishcraft at my local library and the first exercise is describing who you are.

So we all describe ourselves like: mom/dad, wife/husband, truck driver/dance teacher/office drone, I have a religion, I was born here or there.

WRONG! They are not who YOU are.

i know being a mom is important and you love your husband. But those can be fleeting and ever changing. Who you are, what you love does not.

So what do you love? Who are you really?

Want to read the first chapter yourself? I have not done it justice. Wishcraft has it’s own site, you can read the whole thing in pdf format.

Enhanced by Zemanta
3 thoughts on “Who are you really?

  1. I was actually asked a question not too long ago…what did I like to do for fun? And I was absolutely stumped. Writing, of course. Researching, sure. I love to research…but I do that because I love to write. Beyond that I couldn’t come up with a single thing “I” liked to do…because I LIKED to do them. That’s when I realized that somehow, over the years, I kind of disappeared when the mom in me arrived. I’ve done things my kids like to do for so long, I don’t even really remember what I did before that.

    This was supposed to be one of those a-ha moments, and I really was going to start figuring out who I am…but my brain rebelled and didn’t want to think that hard so I still don’t know what I like. Well…I do like going out for supper. Mostly because I don’t have to cook or wash the dishes. :)

    When Kristen asked us to write that list of 100 words…I was ready to drop out of the workshop. That was MUCH harder than what do I do for fun. Is this what they call a mid-life crisis? :)

  2. Wow, that’s a hard question to sum up. I’m a writer, crafter, daydreamer, laugher, crier (yay – went for years when I wasn’t able to cry – how weird is that?), and an A-1 weirdo, which is okay, because I like myself that way! That book sounds like a winner!

  3. I have Wishcraft on my bookshelf and now that I’m writing full time, I’d really like to work through it again. Who am I? Wow, that’s an incredibly difficult questions. Beyond family, it’s all about writing for me. So I guess that makes me a writer. :)

    Thanks for reminding me about the book, Asrai.

Tell everyone why you are awesome too!

